SAPHA’s Statement on the US Government’s Response to COVID-19

The world has been confronting a global pandemic that is putting our public health infrastructure to the test. In the US, there have been over 823,250 confirmed cases of COVID-19 as of Tuesday, April 21st, 2020. Coronavirus disease has particularly affected cities such as New York City, Los Angeles, and Seattle, among others. The South Asian Public Health Association (SAPHA) is releasing this statement to highlight public health gaps in the…Keep Reading

SAPHA’s Statement on Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)

Dear Colleagues, The world is responding to an outbreak of the novel Coronavirus and the disease it causes named “Coronavirus Disease 2019” (COVID-19). Towards the end of January 2020, the US Health and Human Services Secretary declared this outbreak a public health emergency in the US. On March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization (WHO) officially characterized COVID-19 as a pandemic. In this statement, SAPHA is providing various sources to stay up-to-date…Keep Reading

Welcome Letter from SAPHA President

Dear SAPHA colleagues, I hope your decade has been off to a great start! I am immensely honored to be elected as your President to work with both the continuing and newly elected board members of SAPHA. I would like to thank our immediate past President, Memoona Hasnain, and returning board members: Shipra Singh, Shibani Ray‐Mazumder, Samira Khan, Saman Aziz, Trushna Rao-Nadig, and S. Shahrukh Hashmi for their leadership. Thank…Keep Reading